Three Appalachian State Communication Faculty Named Fellows at AEJMC in Minneapolis

Three Communication Department faculty members were named Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Fellows for 2016 at an Association for Education in Mass Communication and Journalism Preconference on Wednesday, August 3 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Heather Preston, Newly Paul, PhD and Mildred "Mimi" Perreault, PhD, were honored the preconference "Empowering Junior Faculty: Pathways to Success in the Academy." The session included junior female faculty in journalism and mass communication from universities throughout the United States. In addition, Jennifer Brannock Cox, an Appalachian State University alumna, was also named as a fellow.

Fellows are chosen through an application process by the Center's founder Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver. This is the fourth year fellows have been selected.

The Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center provides the latest news, research, and events about women and mass communication. Learn more at

Faculty at the AEJMC conference
Published: Aug 8, 2016 1:37pm